Every Journey begins with one small step

Today is the first day of my blogging adventure!  I have no idea where this will take me or what I will discuss or even if there is anyone out there that is interested, but I am ready to take up the challenge of writing.

So here goes, my first step:

I am first and foremost a mom to two amazing teenage girls.  I am also a wife and partner to my best friend. I am also a teacher, a job I came into late in life, but have realized it is not a job but a career and one I am very proud to be a part of.

My real reason for starting this, is I have recently changed my life, I lost my father to skin cancer last year and through that experience realized I have just been a watcher in my life and it was time to become an active participant.  I took control of my inner self and my outer self.  I have since lost over 30 pounds, become more assertive and a much better parent.   I also decided I want my girls to know what all I have done to help them be the fantastic women they are today and will continue to be.  I have been approached by several people asking “how did your girls turn out the way they have”  I have always just quoted Julie Andrews “Somewhere in my youth or childhood I must have done something good”.  But now as I think about it I think I know a little more.  My parents, of course, have had a lot to do with how I am with my girls, but most importantly I think it has really been the girls themselves that taught me what they needed.  What do I mean?  I mean that I think the key to good parenting is to listen.  I don’t mean nodding your head as they tell you the latest drama, I mean really listening for what they are really trying to tell you and to be there when they don’t take your advice.  Never ever saying I told you so!!!

Our family is open, some say too open and as I go through this journey of looking back on my girls’ life and our parenting I hope to discover and show why I feel that the openness is what makes our family strong!

I hope to also learn more about myself and welcome any help as I know I still have lots to learn!  I don’t pretend to have all of the answers only the answers that have worked for us.

So let the Journey begin

About momsmessages

I am a wife and mother of two amazing daughters. I have the best job in the world, teaching reading to some amazing young people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Every Journey begins with one small step

  1. Pingback: Guest Post: Message from a Mom | Tuesday2's Blog

Leave a Reply

